Happy scrappy corners quilt

I am amazed by the massive welcome I received from you guys and the Blog Hop, thank you so much. I received so many comments, I’m still powering through their answers.

Today, I am so excited to share my Happy scrappy corners quilt with you. It is my most expensive quilt to date. Quite ironic when you think that it started with fabric scraps. Oh, well, I love the result, so it’s all worth it. If you miss the work in progress post, it’s over here.

I went to my local long arm quilter and picked two different designs: one for the center squares and one for the border. I actually had two borders but decided on not quilting the last one and transformed it into a binding.

To make the quilting design more visual, I picked a pink thread. I’m not disappointed with that choice, the texture looks amazing. You just want to run your hand and feel it.

IMG_7744

I am just in love! What do you think?

IMG_7743IMG_7759IMG_7739

It has rained non stop the past two days and I wasn’t able to take an outdoor picture. Luckily today was a splendid day, so I ran to the nearest beach and snap this picture. I’m feeling so lucky to live in Wellington, this beach is less than 15 mins walk from our place. Magic!

IMG_7754

I was thinking I should sell this quilt. As much as I love it, I’m up to date with my baby/toddler gifts and I don’t have baby myself. My future kiddos already have so many quilts (it better be girls as I have many pinks). As much as it will pinch my heart to let it go, I would be more than happy that it found a good home. Drop me a line if you are interested. SOLD

Linking up with TGIFF, Crazy Mom Quilts and Show off Saturday:

Finished Fridaylinksaturdaylink

Quilt details:
Finished Size: approx 39′ x 44′
Fabric: Mix scraps, calico, solid pink
Backing: floral pink
Binding: floral yellow and pink
Pieced by: Me
Quilted by: Professional long armer quilter

21 thoughts on “Happy scrappy corners quilt

  1. I am visiting via TGIFF. this is such a pretty quilt and I think the quilting really complements the pretty design. I just got the quilt I featured back from being long arm quilted and love the texture of the waves on a nautical quilt. I have an equilateral triangle quilt on the go and I have decided to quilt it myself next time to try and cut the costs and to learn a new skill.
    Some little girl is going to be so happy with her quilt!

    • Hi Catherine, yes I’m trying to quilt myself too. I recently bought an embroidery foot for free motion quilting. I had a go but need so many hours of practice before doing something decent. I will just have to spend the penny at the long arm quilter in the meantime. I love the work that she does.

  2. It’s so lovely! If I kept my little triangle scraps, I’d make something like it too…

    I think the same about future kids… girls prints and colours are much more fun than boy ones.

  3. What a fabulous quilt. I love it! Your pic with the beach backdrop is awesome! It really shows of the impact of the quilt. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I just love the little triangles!

    I’ve been following you in IG for a while (thegoodsmeller)- sorry it’s taken me so long to check out your blog! Love it! I guess I need to work on mine, now, hah!

Leave a comment