2014 in review

Last year I’ve decided to create a blog about my crafty adventures. My blog isn’t quite a year old yet but I managed to fill it with lots of new and colourful projects.

Before 2014, I only created four quilts. Last year alone, I created 13 quilts! Phew, what an achievement. Mainly baby size quilts (I blame it on all my friends having babies :-) and I also used extensively long arm quilting services. Nevertheless, I slowly improved my piecing skills (taking bigger quilts on board) and even ventured to free motion quilt my own quilt.

Below, is a quick picture summary of my fabric creations:

2014.01q1quilts

  1. Chevron quilt for baby Grace
  2. Forest friends cross stitch quilt for baby Elliot
  3. Happy corners for baby Mia2014.04 quilts March
  4. Flower Power
  5. Aztec quilt
  6. Flying geese for baby Soline
  7. Hedgehog Hexagons for baby Max
  8. 2014.06_09quiltsSnowflake quilt for baby Léonie
  9. Pinwheel star quilt for baby Nina
  10. Equilateral triangle quilt
  11. Irish Chestnut2014.10q4quilts
  12. Meadow brick wall for my husband’s family holiday house
  13. Arizona quilt for us

It’s quite nice to see them all in one place, you can definitely see improvements. It is impossible to choose a favourite though.

This year, I also learnt to knit (thanks to my colleague) and created four different projects. It was very exciting and rewarding at the same time. I’m looking forward to knit some more this year.2014.12knitting

What was also amazing this year, was to be part of a Round Robin group. I just love the quilting community and being part of a group enhance this feeling by 100%. It’s so exciting to see all the creations come to life and see what the next person will bring to the quilt. We worked on five different quilts so far and we have three more quilts to go. I’m eager to see them all finished but, at the same time, I don’t want to see an end to our little lovely group.

  1. PossummagicMy centre
  2. Rebecca’s centre
  3. Carla’s centre
  4. Serena’s centre

So, this is a nice wrap up of the year. A also bought a new sewing machine and we scored a two year visa with my husband to stay in NZ.

My head is already spinning with ideas for new projects to fill 2015. I can’t wait to get started. I’m wishing you a very crafting new year!!

5 thoughts on “2014 in review

    • I know Carla!!! What we’re gonna do??? I have so much fun with our little round robin group. I registered to a quilting bee for this year, hope it will be as much fun.

Leave a Reply

