Snowflake (WIP)

One of my friend recently announced that she was pregnant. I was so excited for her and, immediately, my brain start buzzing with quilting ideas for her little one. My friend grew up in Savoie, a French mountain region. I met her at uni in Lyon and she always misses her mountains. I can’t blame her, the region is splendid.

WE au Praz 097

So, I had a mountain theme in mind for her. I went to the library and borrowed a Swedish knighting book. I picked a lovely star snowflake pattern. The colours were easy to pick, she wanted the gender to remain secret and mountain is all about red and white. I bought 5 fat quarters at my local fabric shop and started cutting mini squares (2′).

IMG_6467

I must admit that my enthusiasm faded away as my first few blocks were not matching and I confused myself with the colours-coding so many times. So, I put the project on the back burner. I had in mind that my friend was due in September, so I had plenty of time to deal with it.

I received an email two weeks ago saying that baby Léonie was born. I was so excited to see the little girl in picture and so in shock that I got the date so wrong. This is what happens when you live so far away from your friends.

So, I tried to organised myself and continue the project but realised the task was not realistic (I needed more than 800 squares!) given my time frame.

IMG_7551

I opted for a simpler version of a snowflake (found here). Thanks to a sewing date with follow local Wellingtonians quilters, I found my mojo back.

IMG_7552

What was key for me was to cut the design in sections, arrange each section and snap a picture before starting to sew. I was easily confused with the colours order so referred to the picture all the time.

IMG_7556

I chained piecing two squares by two squares, then four by four and pressed seams this way:

IMG_7561

Slowly, I managed to sew all my sections and the design magically appeared:

IMG_7637

I decided to add a border as I had extra red squares ready to sew.

IMG_7676

And here is my top:

IMG_7683

It is now at my local long arm quilter. I can’t wait to see the final result and send it to my friend.

Linking this top to Link Tuesday, Show and Tell Tuesday and WIP Wednesday

TuesdayWIP Wed

19 thoughts on “Snowflake (WIP)

    • That’s right Karen. And although I was slightly frustrated and disappointed to change plan, I now love the result. Stay tuned for the finished quilt.

  1. Ohhh, so cute! Next time (ha!) you want to do something like this, there’s a method that uses washable interfacing. You iron the pieces to the interfacing, then sew long rows all at once. Then when you’re done you wash away the interfacing. I think I first saw it during Cut to Pieces Mario quilt-a-long. I think it would really help with not getting the pieces all mixed up. :D This turned out really cute though!

  2. I love it! I am sure your friend will too.
    Check out cross-stitch books in your local library for even more ideas. :)
    Babies have a habit of sneaking up on me too. I never seem to remember their due dates correctly, and when I do they come early anyway!

Leave a Reply

