Round Robin Border 4

Hello, here is a new post about our Round Robin group:

Possum magic

This time, I received Serena’s centre block from Rebecca. I was very anxious to receive this quilt top as many layers were paper pieced (3 out of 4) and I never tried this technique before. All the ladies did an amazing job with the rainbow colours and I had no idea how to keep up with the skills and creativity level.1-IMG_3387

My first thought was to keep the same block size as a nine patch and create some stars, keeping the rainbow colours.  I looked online and found the friendship star block. I liked the name, I liked the shape, I was sold!

The only issue was to find some rainbow fabric. I don’t have an extensive stash and most of my fabric are florals, so not ideal for that project. To my surprise, many people were keen to help and I went through everyone’s stash in Wellington to find the fabric I needed.

IMG_0400 I had to find four different shade of one colour plus a tiny piece to fussy cut to add a little bit of interest at the centre of the star. I bought the background fabric at the local store and it’s funny how the design replicate the quilting I’m currently doing on my Arizona quilt. 
IMG_0405

I love the result, each star is so special. The star bellow is made of scraps from Deb (I believe the “Cat nap” line) and the centre is from my stash (“Sweet as honey” line).

IMG_0467My colleague advised me to switch slightly the colours to give a bit of a movement to my border. I thought it was a good idea.
IMG_0395

When talking to Wendy, the next person for this quilt, she says she might not use the rainbow colour. I wasn’t brave enough the break to rainbow but I’ve included black wonky stars blocks at each corner to introduce new tone. Hope it would be helpful for her.

IMG_0461

I love the result and I’m quite proud of myself. At the start, I really had no idea how to keep up with the level but I think the result looks nice and blend well with the spirit of this quilt. Yay!

Don’t forget to check my Possum Magic friends over here:

Linking up with:

WIP Wed

Sew-Cute-Tuesday-e1384841858599

11 thoughts on “Round Robin Border 4

  1. This is coming together so beautifully! Serena is going to be thrilled.
    I love how everyone in Wellington helped out by sharing their rainbow fabrics. That’s the quilting spirit! Thanks, Wellington!
    I have been admiring your fussy-cut centres on Instagram.

  2. The friendship star – what a perfect choice! I shall never forget all the effort that has gone into this quilt for me and will treasure it so. You’ve done a wonderful job, I can’t wait to see it up close and look at all the fussy cut centres – squeee!!

  3. Looks fantastic! I’d have been having a slight panic when presented with such a beautiful quilt top to add to. I love how brave and creative you guys are!

Leave a Reply

