Baby knitted singlet

I think, I’m officially obsess with knitting. I was preparing for a long weekend away and couldn’t imagine not having a knitting project with me. It had to be something simple as I couldn’t reach for my colleague help at that time.

I picked a simple singlet from Windsor print pattern. It seems very doable given my basic skills set. To remain gender neutral, I chose grey and yellow. I had the idea to do some random yellow stripes, grey being the main colour.

IMG_9718

I started the project even before going away. It worked fine and I like the result of my random stripes. As metal knitting needles are not allowed to carry on the plane, I bought circular screw-in needles from Knit Pro. Once disassemble, it looks like two pens and it’s definitely not dangerous.

IMG_9720

I forgot to take picture of my WIP as the camera was more used to capture to beauty of Bay of island rather than my knitting. However, I thought it was a very good idea to bring this project along a knit during quiet time.

The project was fast and easy but I still struggled at picking up stitches for my collar. I tried several times and even asked my husband for help. He agreed and tried his best. Bless him! You should have seen him: concentrating very hard (with his tongue out) while picking up stitches. Too funny!

It still wasn’t right, so I had to wait to see my colleague for help.

IMG_0069

I picked up stitched for each armhole. It still not perfect (why can we see this yellow stitches?) but it was still an improvement compare to the collar.

IMG_0231

And here is the result:

IMG_0232I’m slightly concerned about the size of the collar (seems to small to fit any baby’s head) but I really like it. It was fun to make and definitely worth while bringing knitting project while away.

***
Knitting Details:
Yarn: Naturally loyal 100% wool, 8ply
Shade: Grey (905) and Yellow  (902)
Needles: 4mm, plus 3,75mm for the collar and armholes
Pattern: Windsor print, Toddler’s sleeveless V neck, Design P54
What I learnt: Matching my own pattern of random stripes (back and front, neck left and right). I mostly stayed in my comfort zone for this project, (aka: not learning heaps new tricks) as I wanted to knit something while away and unable to ask for help.
***
Linking up with Crazy mom quilt
4 thoughts on “Baby knitted singlet

    • That’s a good point Wendy. The last pattern I followed mentioned “Cast off loosely” in bold letters but this one didn’t write anything so I might have not done it. Will definitely remember for next time.

  1. Wendy is right about casting off loosely. My favourite jumper when I was a kid was knit by my mum, but I almost ripped my nose and ears off every time I put it on or took it off as it was cast off a bit tightly around the neck.
    Picking up stitches is tricky. I still have to do the concentrating face when doing it. Your husband is a good sport!

Leave a Reply

