Round Robin Border 3

Hello, here is a new post about our Round Robin group: Possum magicI received Carla’s central block quite a while ago, but I was too intimidated by everyone’s work on this quilt top that I didn’t do anything for a long time. I mean, look at these cute ladybirds and pretty flowers from Rebecca, how can you compete with that?
IMG_0079

The quilt top looked pretty much finished to me and it was hard to come up with a plan. I first was thinking of adding some birch tree blocks like Amanda from Crazy mum quilts. I really like those blocks but a quilting friends suggested why not an appliqué vine?

It took time in my mind to go for the vines as I never done any appliqué before, but Carla is actually encouraging us to try something new in her block. So vines it was.

Vineapplique

At first, I was slightly stress to do my first appliqué in her quilt top but it turns out I really enjoyed it! I’m sure, you will see more appliqué from me in the near future…

quiltapplique

I was happy about my new borders but wanted to sew something different for the corners. I picked the four background fabrics that Carla used in her central block and started to chop them up in four. I mixed the pieces and added the same fabric as my vines to add contrast.

improvpeicing

It was very improvisational as before cutting the pieces, I didn’t really have a final idea for the corners. But I like it. It almost meets my vines from each side but not quite. It wasn’t meant to meet as it is an improv piece. I hope it doesn’t look too odd though.

IMG_0116

This is how Carla’s quilt top looks like now:

IMG_0112

I’m really happy with the result. I think it ties in well with the theme. I tried to had a splash of colours but no options looked very nice so I stayed with the B&W plus green combo. Hope Carla likes it too.

Don’t forget to check my Possum Magic friends over here:

Linking up with:

WIP Wed

Sew-Cute-Tuesday-e1384841858599

16 thoughts on “Round Robin Border 3

    • It’s a bit of a mix Julie. The one who did the central block left a package with some scraps that everyone can use it. Everyone who works on the quilt can also add to the package. For example, I had some fabric from the vine (that I bought) leftover, so I left it in the bag. But for the corners, I’ve used 4 different fabric that was in the bag.

Leave a Reply

