Irsish Chestnut

In May this year, I made my first Irish chain quilt with scraps that was donated to me (see WIP here). After my, not so well executed, nine patch on “Tiles” top, I thought I needed more practice. This one turned out well but I had no specific use for it, so it got lost at the bottom of my WIP bag.

In an effort to work on my finish along gaols for quarter 3, I pulled this WIP out and gave it to the long arm quilter.

Irish_chain_quilt

I’m always amazed at how quilting change the spirit of a quilt and gives the quilt a soul. Yes, even all over computerised designs. I have nothing against them. This time, picked a leaf pattern as the tiny squares had some prints about forest, animals with autumn colours. The leaves made me think of an oak tree which is what I saw a lot as a kid during our autumnal week-end walk in the forest with my family.

Nine_patch_blockFor the back, I’ve used a solid brown that I had on my stash. As it wasn’t big enough, I added some lines of the squares you can see on the front. Little side story: The back was still not big enough and the long arm quilter told me to enlarge it. I didn’t have time to go back to my place, add borders and give it to her before closing time, so she let me use one of her sewing machine to do it. Ha, love my long arm quilter!
IMG_9295

I picked a Lecien quilters basic for the binding. I would not use brown normally, but the colour scheme of those scraps was asking for it. I enjoyed working with someone else’s scraps as it put me out of my colour comfort zone and I really like the result.

IMG_9222

Here is how the binding and quilting looks on the back: IMG_9309

Love it! I can totally imagine this quilt being used for a rustic picnic in the forest with a grandpa and a kid gone for mushrooms picking in an autumn day. You know? with a cute wicker basket…

Quilt Details
Finished Size: approx. 43′ x 43′
Fabric: Scraps donated by Deb + calico
Backing: Solid brown + more scraps from Deb
Binding: Lecien made in Japan
Pieced by: Me
Quilted by: Long arm quilter (All leaves 2 from Sweet dreams quilt studio)
Linking up with TGIFF and Crazy Mom Quilts
16 thoughts on “Irsish Chestnut

Leave a Reply

