Equilateral Triangle quilt

In addition to my new machine, I bought some essential quilting accessories like a walking foot. I’ve never used a walking foot before and I wanted to try it as soon as possible. Luckily, I had the triangle quilt top waiting for me and crying for straight lines quilting.

On Saturday night, just after work, I thought I would do some prep work and baste the quilt sandwich. Then, I thought I may as well mark the lines. Once finished, I really wanted to try some quilting. And just like that, I finish the quilting in one evening. I really enjoyed using the walking foot, it wasn’t as difficult as I first imagined.

IMG_8886

I really love straight lines quilting, I like the diamond shapes it creates on this quilt:

IMG_8895

I already chose the backing for this quilt but when I came across this Sevenberry fabric, I thought it was meant to be and changed my plans. It compliments the quilt top so well.

IMG_8897

I use the same fabric as the backing for my binding. I had some extra left and I thought it would be a good link between the back and the front of the quilt.
IMG_8899As a result, I absolutely love this quilt and despite having a girlfriend with a baby girl due soon, I’m very tempted to keep this one for myself. Oh, so selfish of me! It’s a bit silly as having babies is not part of any plan soon for us but, oh well, I guess this quilt can wait. Plus, I now have an excuse to make another quilt…

Quilt Details
Finished Size: aprox. 34′ x 28′
Fabric: Various solid + Pink polka dot + one Kaffe Fassett fat 1/4
Backing & Binding: Sevenberry polka dots
Pieced & Quilted by: Me
Linking up with TGIFF and Crazy Mom Quilts
18 thoughts on “Equilateral Triangle quilt

  1. Kelly says:

    I love everything about it Alice! Love the colours – especially the backing too. I can see why you love it so much. Your straight stitching is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

