Arizona

Ok, people, I’ve done it again: I bought new fabric, yay!

I promised myself not to buy too many fabric since I don’t know for how long we are in NZ for but… I actually can finish this sentence in so many different ways as we all have many excuses to buy fabric (and I’m sure you know what I mean). My excuse this time was that I recently started a full time job (as opposed to working casually or not working at all), so I could afford to treat myself. This bundle is my “celebration” fabric. The funny part is that I am now working full time in a craft shop that also sell quilt fabric. Temptation, temptation!

I probably like everything from Art Gallery fabrics, but I decided to go for the Arizona line from April Rhodes this time. I even bought the coordinating fat quarter bundle to go with it. I loved the designs and the colours.

IMG_8307

I surely wasn’t disappointed when I open my mail, the fabric line and the colours are fantastic!

IMG_8309

Now, I need to figure out what to do with them. I feel like some of the print shouldn’t be cut in small pieces, so I’m not sure what quilt design to chose. I will probably keep it as it is for a while, admiring it and “pet” it from time to time (please tell me I’m not the only one doing that).

IMG_8311If you bought this fabric line and have done a project with it, please let me know. I love watching other projects for inspiration.

Linking up with:

molli_sparkles_sunday_stash_button

12 thoughts on “Arizona

    • Hard to resist indeed. What do you mean by “sea thing”? It would be funny to work on this line together. I love watching all the different results coming from a same fabric line.

  1. You are definitely not the only one who admires beautiful fabric by touching it. :) That is a really handsome line, and I think you are right, some of the prints need to be used without being cut up too much, I think. I look forward to seeing what you decide to create!

    • Phew, for a sec a was a weirdo out there :-) I think I found a pattern idea that I like but I’m not 100% sure yet that it will work with that line.

  2. I think I might have to get a bundle of this. Where did you get yours from? I want the whole collection.

    I don’t know what I want to do with it either. It’s gorgeous, and as I live in Texas, it the southwestern desert feel definitely resonates with me. I keep thinking something along the lines of Seminole patchwork, but I’m not sure if that would be best for the fabric. I want to do something that doesn’t detract from it at all. Whenever you get any ideas you should say so! I’d love to work on a project at the same time! (What a neat idea – working on similar quilts with the same fabric from opposite sides of the world)

  3. Oh yay, let’s do that! I would love working on the same time as yours. Exciting time! I think, one person from IG was also keen to join. We could do a “Arizona-quilt-along”, everyone chose their pattern but use the same fabric line.

    I bought the fabric from: http://www.westwoodacresfabric.com/, Amanda is a sweet heart.

    • That sounds like a lot of fun! I found a couple of patterns using this exact line by googling, so I might take one of those and modify it. I won’t be able to start until September, when my current QAL ends. If you feel compelled to start cutting into this sooner, by all means! You don’t have to wait for me!

Leave a Reply

