Hot watter bottle cover

I was pondering what to do with my FMQ practice sandwiches for a while. I don’t like throwing and wasting “stuff”, especially food and fabric. Then, it hit me: we were using a hot water bottle and feeling the boiling plastic isn’t a nice feeling. It was time for a hot water bottle quilted cover.

I know everyone is talking about summer trend, summer holidays, swimming and beach at the moment but here in New-Zeeland, we are in the middle of winter and let me tell you that it is freezing! So a hot water bottle cover was very appropriate.

I’m not a big fan of following patterns (I get bored), I have more fun doing my own things and learning with the trial and error method. So, I decided to just go with the flow as a hot water bottle cover seems a pretty simple thing to do.

IMG_7969

I didn’t even trace the design, just went straight with cutting my FMQ sandwiches.

IMG_7970

I cut one side bigger than the other one and cut it in the middle. This would be used as a flap for the opening.

IMG_7972

I added bindings on the openings (middle and top). I liked the idea that the top was actually open to be able to pour boiling water without needing to remove the hot water bottle out of its cover.

IMG_7975

And here you go. I agree, it’s a bit wonky on the sides but I like it anyway. The only thing I would change if I was making a second one, is to overlap more the top panel.

IMG_7982

My hot water bottle cover in action:IMG_7986

It’s so nice to feel warm quilted fabric now when falling asleep.

What would you use your practice FMQ sandwiches for? I’m keen to hear many project ideas as I am planing on doing more FMQ practice soon.

Linking up with TGIFF and Crazy Mom Quilts:

Finished Fridaylinksaturdaylink

11 thoughts on “Hot watter bottle cover

  1. That’s a great idea! I had decided to make cushions out of mine – I was just going to do one panel fronts and backs (ie just use the whole piece) but now am thinking I could make striped panels too (once I have enough to cut up and combine! – thanks for the idea!

  2. I hate wasting any fabric too. Great use of your practice pieces. I sometimes make hot pads or coasters out of mine. Just cut to size and toss a binding on. They make good charity auction donations, which everyone seems to want when they know you quilt or craft.

Leave a Reply

