Half Square Triangles love

Today, I would like to invite you to a walk down memory lane. This would be a short walk as this is the story of my quilt #2 that I realised when I was living in London in 2012.

At that time, I was an avid reader of lifestyle blogs and started noticing quilts that I really like around the blogosphere. One of my friends was getting married and I thought I would make her a quilt as a present.

I register to Craftsy and enrol on to the free BOM course with Amy Gibson. I loved her course. She was so sweet, explained each block so well (easy to follow for a beginner) and you could even ask questions and share your projects with the other students. I thought the video system was brilliant, I would just put my iPad on my desk, next to my sewing machine and follow Amy in “real” time. 

I started around Easter time, and was influenced by Easter colours to pick my fabric:

P1220471

I came across the Half Square Triangle lesson on Amy’s BOM and I loved it. There are so many possibilities, so many designs from this simple and fun technique. I stopped working on the BOM, and just experienced more and more with HST.

P1220490P1220491P1220745P1220478

After several weeks, I had enough blocks to make a decent size quilt.

P1220757

I decided on adding orange borders to make everything “pop”. It was a bold choice, I was planing on adding white borders first, but I am glad I went for the bolder version.

P1220795

So far, so good. When it came to the actual quilting, I was very scared and had no idea of what I was supposed to do. I put it off for a very long time. Then it was nearly time to go to the wedding, so I had to continue. I bought a glue spray and quilted my quilt sandwich (no basting, I didn’t know what it was at that time). As you can imagine, it went very wrong. I didn’t have a walking foot (and still don’t have), the fabric made so many puckering, I didn’t manage to sew a single straight line. It was horrible.

After several quilts, I’m still nervous to quilt, it is definitely an area where I should improve. It was so bad that I actually wonder if I should offer it or not at my friend’s wedding. I looked for other options but finally decided that I will still make it as a present despite all the horrible quilting mistakes.

I only took pictures from a far in our communal gardening plot, so you can’t really see the details.IMG_5796xxIMG_5804cc

We went to the wedding, it was splendid and my friend seems happy about her gift.

Recently, I was wondering whether or not she was using the quilt. And this week, I receive this very cute picture of her daughter:Amelie and quilt

She says she uses the quilt a lot indoor for her daughter as a play mat. I couldn’t be happier.

PS: I can not resist sharing some “behind the scene” pictures:PicMonkey Collage

Participation of my husband (boyfriend at that time) on some block designs, while watching surfing videos. Another apparition of THE boyfriend while spraying glue. Plus, my “stress face” while sewing binding.

I still love making HST and can’t wait making another quilt with them!

Linking up with TGIFF, Crazy Mom Quilts and Link a Finish Friday.
Finished FridaylinkButton_Friday2_Resized
12 thoughts on “Half Square Triangles love

  1. Thanks for sharing this story. I am yet to jump in with the actual machine quilting and have been sending my tops for longarm quilting so far. I am determined to start though due to the expense! Maybe we focus on our mistakes too much?

    • Hi Catherine, I must admit that I use heavily the long arm quilting too. I love the designs she makes. Nothing wrong with that I think, but like you I would like to experiment more in this area.

  2. What a great story! Also, I agree with Granny Maud’s Girl- quilts should be used and loved, not tucked away for no one to see! Thanks for linking up to TGIFF this week!

  3. I think it is amazing just how many great block designs you can make with HSTs! thanks for sharing the story of this quilt – I often feel like my quilts aren’t good enough to be given away. It is always so easy to see the flaws in your own work. love those behind the scenes photos :)

    • Thanks Allison! Sorry for late reply, for some reasons, your comments were stuck on the spam folder. Thanks for visiting and saying Hi!

  4. I have the same stress face!!! LOL So glad you jumped in and just did it. We are our own harshest critiques! Your friend obviously loves and uses the quilt, so I’d say you made an awesome quilt (love the colors and the variations of HSTs!) that will be loved and treasured for years to come :)

  5. Hi Alice, I found you from the new quilt blogger, and I’m new to machine quilting too. I love your story that you had good intentions and didn’t give up although things turned out unexpectedly. I’m sure that your friend and her daughter must love the quilt you made.

Leave a Reply

