The pin-wheel star (WIP)

For this top, l was inspired by Adrianne from “On the windy side” who was inspired herself by Rita from “Red Pepper quilt”. I love how quilters inspired each other on the online community.

I chose three different shades of pale green mixing it with some stripy pink. I bought those fabric in France, my mum sent them to me recently. I really want to use them as I don’t want them to travel that far again.

IMG_6623

I absolutely adore half square triangles. In fact, that’s probably the only quilt technique I know. I am keen to experiment other techniques this year, to challenge myself a bit. I love half square triangles so much though, it would be difficult to go away from them. They are so versatile, so many cool patterns can be made out of them.

IMG_6644

I just love lying all my HST on the floor and slowly discovering the shape appearing.

IMG_6638

After a rainy afternoon of mad sewing, here is the top finished:

IMG_6714

Did you notice my matching pink trousers?

I am not too sure how to quilt this top yet. I will probably do straight lines on my domestic sewing machine. I am scared though as I never quilt a big piece before. We shall wait and see. I will keep you posted.

I’m adding this top to:

WIP Wed

PS: You can find Adrianne’s quilt top here and Rita’s here.

7 thoughts on “The pin-wheel star (WIP)

Leave a Reply

