Aztec quilt

It all started with a picture uploaded on Instagram from one of my IG friend. I fell in love instantly with the design. I really love how we can inspire each other on those online communities.

It was my turn to chose my colours. I’m a very pink lady, so I opted for different shades of pink, a contrasting purple and a yellow floral to brighten the middle square.

IMG_6533

After the cutting process, I started sewing all my half square triangles. Isn’t HST so amazing? You can do so many and different patterns. I love them.

photoaThe top was so much fun to put together. It turned out exactly as I wanted. I love those colours combination so much (different shades of pink, yellow and purple). In fact there are the colours I chose for my wedding theme, and I’m still obsessed with them.

IMG_6558I wondered if I should quilt it myself or give it to the long arm quilter. I recently discovered a long arm quilter nearby my house and I absolutely loved the result of the first quilt I gave her. As I was flipping through her catalog, I loved so many designs and thought it would be fun to try a different one. So, I decided on the long arm quilter. I wasn’t too sure on the design to use on this quilt. As I told her it was an Aztec quilt, she pointed me a very nice design featuring geometric shapes with some sun and moon. Absolutely perfect. It didn’t take her long to complete the quilting. I was so excited to see how it looked and I loved it. Absolutely stunning.

photob

I wondered whether to bind it with the solid purple colour or stripy pink. All my IG friends told me “stripy”, so I obliged. I chose a floral print for my background. This is from the marché St Pierre in Paris. I am on a mission to use all the fabric that my mum sent me as I don’t want them to travel across the world again.

photoc

And here is how it looks finished:

IMG_6608I absolutely love everything on this quilt: pattern, colours, quilting! I wish I had a baby girl, it would go directly into her nursery. I don’t have a baby girl yet so it will need to find a new home. I would be selling this quilt, hope it could find a loving home.

Edit: The writer of that pattern is Meg from Quilt Story, you can find the pattern in their Etsy shop and their blog post here.

I’m linking this post on:

saturdaylink

6 thoughts on “Aztec quilt

  1. I appreciate the instant gratification you provided when showing the top and the coordinating quilting right after. Here in Albuquerque, I see a whole lot of southwestern quilting designs, but I love how you have used a non-typical color palette. You did a great job translating the design into fabric.

  2. Stephanie (ladyinthread) says:

    Looks so good! I do need to add that the writer of that pattern is @quiltstory meg and Quilt Story is her Etsy. The pattern is there for purchase. Then you can do the math however you’d like to increase the size!

Leave a Reply

