Heart appliqué quilt for Mum

This is a quilt I made back in 2012 when I was living in London. I set my eyes on a beautiful charm pack from Moda. The print and the colours were so delicate, I knew I wanted using heart shapes for this. I decided on making heart appliqués.

IMG_4530

I was only doing one or two hearts per evening so it tooks me several weeks finishing them all. Don’t you love my little tin, so British, right?
IMG_5755

Once all the hearts were made, I machine stitch them on calico squares. I bought so much calico in the hope of making screen printing at that time. Unfortunately, I never did screen printing, so I thought, it could be a good use of my calico stack.

IMG_5812

I then sew all the squares together, alternating a heart square with a solid square. This picture isn’t great and the pressing is really lacking but you got the idea. IMG_5840

My mum’s birthday is in September and she lives in France in a beautiful vineyard region. You should see this region by Fall, it is splendid: the hills are coloured in bright yellow by the vineyard leaves. It was a bit late for the yellow leaves but I still took some pictures in the vineyard.

To finish the quilt, I just sew straights diagonals with my machine. I like the simple look. What bother me thought is this very wonky line in the middle. It was the first line that I sew and I didn’t trace it in advance. Ooops! Well, you learn from your mistakes and once I traced the lines, it looks so much nicer.

P1240652 P1240653 P1240656 P1240668

My mum was so surprised and happy about her gift. It was the third quilt that I made, she had no idea I liked quilts. Since then, I visited her couple of times and the quilt is always out in the couch or on her bed, she loves it!

One thought on “Heart appliqué quilt for Mum

Leave a Reply

